Rouse Hill High School

Dare to excel

Telephone02 9836 1890

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Year 7 and 8 Enrichment class

In Year 7 and 8 there is an enrichment class. Placement in the class is determined by information gathered from external and internal sources.

Students enrolling from primary school will be provided with information regarding the Higher Ability Selection Test including the cost and test date. Participation in this test is voluntary, however, the results are used as a source of information to determine placement in the Year 7 enrichment class.  The Higher Ability Selection Test will be administered at the school and is normally held in June.